What main points are covered by the Code of Conduct?

1. As a behavioural compendium for energy-efficient data centres, the Code of Conduct includes guidelines for designers of data centres, data centre operators and owners of the data centre, called Participants.

2. To reduce energy consumption in data centres continuously, the Code of Conduct also provides basic guidelines for passive or active data centre components manufacturers, consulting companies or associations, known as Endorsers.

3. In addition, the Code of Conduct contains a set of so-called "best practice" solutions which are prime examples and which describe the most successful solutions and procedures to serve the involved companies and parties as an incentive for energy efficient operation of their data centres.
Download at

The Best Practice Guidelines, version 8.1.0 (.pdf)

Which guidelines apply for data centre operators?

Participants commit to hand in a monthly record about the energy consumption of the entire data centre, the main IT components, especially the cooling system, and various temperature data and to assess this information using the DCiE index (Data Centre Infrastructure Efficiency).  Click on the following link to download the complete list of guidelines:

Participants guidelines version 3.0 (.pdf)

Which guidelines apply for manufacturers of data centre equipment?

Manufacturers of data centre equipment, consultants or industry associations have to prove that they support the energy-efficient data centre operation within their field of expertise. This implies the development of data centre components or solutions that promote the realization of energy-efficient data centre operation. Click on the following link to download the complete list of guidelines:

Endorsers guidelines version 3.1.0 (.pdf)

What other commitments does the code of conduct include?

All parties agree to raise the level of awareness of the Code on their own initiative.

What companies are already listed as Participants in the Code of Conduct?

For a list of all Participants, please click the following link: Participants

What companies already participate as endorsers of the Code of Conduct?

For a list of Endorsers, please visit the following link: Endorsers

Welche Punkte enthält der Code of Conduct?

1. Als Verhaltenscodex für energieeffiziente Rechenzentren umfasst der Code of Conduct Richtlinien für Planer von Rechenzentren, Rechenzentrumsbetreiber und Rechenzentrumsbesitzer, die so genannten Participants.

2. Um den Energieverbrauch in Rechenzentren kontinuierlich zu senken, stellt der Code of Conduct auch für Hersteller aktiver oder passiver Rechenzentrumskomponenten, Beratungshäuser oder Verbände, die als Endorsers bezeichnet werden, grundlegende Richtlinien auf.

3. Außerdem beinhaltet der Code of Conduct einen Katalog so genannter „Best Practice“ Lösungen, also Paradebeispiele, die besonders gelungene Lösungen und Verfahren beschreiben und den beteiligten Unternehmen als Anregung für den energieeffizienten Betrieb ihres Rechenzentrums dienen sollen. Download unter:

The Best Practice Guidelines, version 3 (.pdf) Englisch

Welche Richtlinien gelten für Rechenzentrumsbetreiber?

Participants verpflichten sich zu einer monatlichen Erfassung des Energieverbrauches des gesamten Rechenzentrums, der Haupt-IT-Komponenten insbesondere des Kühlsystemes, sowie verschiedener Temperaturdaten und zur Bewertung dieser Informationen anhand der DCiE-Kennzahl (Data Center Infrastructure Efficiency). Die vollständige Richtlinien finden Sie zum Download unter:

Participants guidelines version 2.0 (.pdf) Englisch

Welche Richtlinien gelten für Hersteller von Rechenzentrums-Equipment?

Hersteller von Rechenzentrums-Ausstattung, Berater oder Industrieverbände müssen belegen, dass sie innerhalb ihres Kompetenzfeldes für den energieeffizienten Betrieb von Rechenzentren eintreten. Konkret bedeutet das die Entwicklung von RZ-Komponenten oder Lösungen, mit deren Hilfe Rechenzentren einen energieeffizienten Betrieb realisieren können. Die kompletten Richtlinien finden Sie zum Download unter: 

Endorsers guidelines version 2.0 (.pdf) Englisch

Welche sonstigen Verpflichtungen beinhaltet der Code of Conduct?

Alle Beteiligten erklären sich bereit, durch eigenes Engagement den Bekanntheitsgrad des Kodex zu steigern.

Welche Unternehmen beteiligen sich als Participants am Code of Conduct?

Eine Liste aller Participants finden Sie unter folgendem Link: Participants

Welche Unternehmen beteiligen sich als Endorsers am Code of Conduct?

Eine Liste aller Endorsers finden Sie unter folgendem Link: Endorsers